Open Air 2019

The SAFC anual Open Air competition will be held on Sunday 15 September.
Entry in now open. Go to our eShop to register.
Subscribe to our news updates or follow us on FaceBook for up to date information.

This has taken the form of poule unique, each for foil, epee and sabre, so every competitor has  the opportunity for plenty of fencing. The top four fencers in each weapon will then compete in two semi-final & final rounds for medals, and a Maitre d'Armes trophy is awarded for the best performance across all three weapons.
For those with interests other than fencing, there is expected to be a Bake-Off round as well.

If the weather is against us, the fencing relocates to the adjacent sports hall.

A buffet is provided throughout the day, and a BBQ (inc beers and sof drinks), finishes the weekend off.
Spectators and family are welcome.
(Breakfast is also provided for those helping set up first thing in the morning.)
The venue is our usual training venue, Marlborough School, St. Albans.


2018 Results

The 2018 Open Air competition was held on Sunday 9th September at our usual venue, Marlborough School, St. Albans. The competition was in the form of 3 Poule Uniques - one each for Sabre, Epee and Foil. The top 4 Sabreurs competed in a second round for medals, with Epee and Foil being decided by rankings from the respective Poules.

Foil Epee Sabre
1st : Austen Rose 1st : Peter Moore 1st : Tamas Vurju
2nd : Jake Kirkman 2nd : Austen Rose 2nd : Deco Mitchell-Row
3rd = : Philip Allen 3rd = : Sam Bojarski 3rd = : Joash Lewis
3rd = : Andy Docherty 3rd = : Matthew Rose 3rd = : Jake Kirkman
Best novice Alex Gordon
Ladies foil Melanie Rabier
Master at arms Jake Van Kirkam

View full results.

2017 Results

Foil Epee Sabre
1st : Chris Lennon 1st : Peter Moore 1st : Lorenzo Buonfiglio
2nd : Pranav Thakkar 2nd : David White 2nd : Chris Lennon
3rd = : Michael Lown 3rd = : Julian Parker 3rd = : Philip Allen
3rd = : Jake Kirkham 3rd = : Chris Lennon 3rd = : Giles Rhodes

2016 Results

Foil Epee Sabre
1st : Laura Delany 1st : David White 1st : Chris Lennon
2nd : Peter Senior 2nd : Tony Middleton 2nd : Thamas Varju
3rd : Chris Lennon 3rd = : Philip Allen 3rd = : Peter Senior
3rd = : Chris Lennon 3rd = : Phil Elliott

2014 Results

Men's Foil Women's Foil Epee Sabre
1st : Ben Andrews  1st : Gerry Koeva  1st : Ben Andrews 1st : Chris Lennon
2nd : Chris Lennon  2nd : Harriett Nicholson  2nd : Ollie Smith 2nd : Tony Bardell
3rd : Tony Conyard and JD Evans  3rd : Jo Adam and David White 3rd : Philip Allen and Phil Elliott
Foil plate  Philip Allen
Novice Trophy Alexey Erekhinsky
The Great Chocolate Brownie Bake Off Challenge JD Evans

2013 winners

Men's Foil : Paul Davis Epee : Ollie Smith Sabre : Jon Daley
Women’s Foil : Harriet Nicholson Master at Arms : Terry Salinger Best Novice : Bev Sulivan

2012 winners

Men's Foil : Ben Vermeire Epee : Terry Salinger
Women's Foil : Sarah Eames Sabre : Jon Daley